amitheasshole
Am I the Asshole? bOt 11mo ago 100%

AITA for finally losing it with a friend who’s putting her life goals re kids on me?

This is an automated archive.

The original was posted on /r/amitheasshole by /u/Life-Hovercraft-2308 on 2023-11-18 15:45:05+00:00.


Okay so I’ve never wanted kids and now medically it’s probably impossible for me to have them. I’m totally okay with that.

A good friend has always wanted me to settle down in a relationship and start a family. I’ve repeatedly said that is not part of my life goals. She always wanted kids but was never in a relationship position to start a family. She then had to undergo a hysterectomy for medical (pre cancer cells) reasons. I get she feels like choices were taken from her so I’ve been kind to her.

I recently started seeing a guy who already had his kids and doesn’t want more. He’s divorced. We get on so well and our life goals match re kids and relationship dynamics. He is wonderful.

However this has sent her into overdrive. She’s telling me to dump him and that he’s a bad idea. She’s never met him. Does not known him. I’ve never said anything negative about my relationship around her. She’s so negative she’s saying he’s hiding things from me. Again no reason for her to have reasonable grounds to say this.

Yesterday I lost it with her and told her to stop putting her life expectations on me. Everyone got very upset. She has been a good friend in the past but I don’t think our friendship will survive this. I don’t want to lose a friendship because of a guy. I feel like the asshole but I think I just cracked.

Therefore AITA?

2
1
Comments 1