bookstodon
bookstodon group SallyStrange 5d ago 100%

So, I've been reading "Late Victorian Holocausts: El Nino Famines and the Making of the Third World" by Mike Davis. And as he recounts famine after famine, each of which claimed millions of lives, I

So, I've been reading "Late Victorian Holocausts: El Nino Famines and the Making of the Third World" by Mike Davis. And as he recounts famine after famine, each of which claimed millions of lives, I started thinking to myself: even granting the ludicrous assumptions of the anti-communists with the "Victims of Communism" webpage (and proposed memorial or something?), the victims of capitalism easily outnumber them. And I wasn't alone. Here, the author recounts how British colonial policy was responsible for 100 million excess premature deaths in India alone, over the course of a half century.

#Capitalism #Colonialism #Communism #VictimsOfCommunism #VictimsOfCapitalism

https://www.aljazeera.com/opinions/2022/12/2/how-british-colonial-policy-killed-100-million-indians

#history

3
3
Comments 3