fediverse
Fediverse gamer 1y ago 100%

Federating a static blog?

Hey all,

I have a personal blog that is just a bunch of static files generated from markdown, nothing fancy. I also generate an RSS feed so that people can subscribe to it.

Today I got the idea of adding it to the fediverse somehow, but the more I look into it, it doesn't seem like the technology really fits with the concept of a traditional blog.

The main issue I see is that publications need to be push-based, so if someone subscribes to my blog, they won't be able to see old posts. That's not a big deal for something like Twitter, but typically people want to be able to see older content on blogs.

So it seems like RSS+static files is still the best combo for this. I guess I could create a bot or something that posts links to new articles. That's not as cool, but it can be useful to reach people who already use a fediverse app, but not an RSS reader.

I'm interested in others thoughts on this.

Thanks!

1
0
Comments 0